Kurma Avatara by Pierre Sonnerat, 1782
Note the chakra in both hands

The Parāśara Jyotiṣa Course for the academic year 2A envisages two very broad areas of study – Varga (Divisional Charts) and Varga Viveka. We will be primarily focusing on the ṣoḍaśavarga or the sixteen D-Charts of Parāśara. Before starting the Lessons pertaining to any of the major topics, always finish the associated lesson in Prārambha first. At the outset, we have three lessons on Concepts Revisited namely (1) Karma and Free Will (2) Exaltation and Debility and (3) Method of Three Kings, to get started. Thereafter the following Lessons must be completed before we really get into individual D-Charts.

  • Primary Divisions
  • Guru Vandanā
  • PJC Year-2 Start
  • Śloka 01: Varga Bheda
  • Śloka 02: Viśvarupa
  • Śloka 3-4: 16 Varga
  • Divisions of a Sign

We start with the beautiful mantra that free’s us from all bondages

ॐ नमो भगवते अकूपाराय
om namo bhagavate akūpārāya

The word अकूपार (akūpāra) means  unbounded (RV. v.39.2 and x. 109.1) like the sea which grants the freedom of movement in any direction without restriction. It refers to the tortoise avatara, the mythical tortoise that upholds the world.

  • Initiation - The initiation of the Himalaya Class of PJC-Year 2 starts with teaching of two mantras – one for learning vedic astrology and the other for worshipping the parama-guru Muni Parāśara. Recall the first śloka of BPHS – अथैकदा मुनिश्रेष्ठं त्रिकलज्ञं पराशरम्‌। पप्रच्छोपेत्य मैत्रेयः प्रणिपत्य कृताञ्जलिः॥ १॥ athaikadā muniśreṣṭhaṁ trikalajñaṁ parāśaram | papracchopetya maitreyaḥ praṇipatya kṛtāñjaliḥ […]
  • Jyotisa Concepts - Before venturing into divisional charts we need to learn the terminology and concepts used by the sages of yore. The following varga concepts are included in these slide presentation. Rāśi Pada: This is derived from the hymn of the Ṛk Veda which informs us how Viṣṇu upholds dharma. It includes “zodiac signs in the fingers” […]
  • Karma and Freewill - After death a person carries with him the dharma (and the Karma), which can be divided into two broad parts called Saṅcita Karma and Prārabdha Karma. Saṅcita Karma is finished in various types of hells and suffering in the life after death whereas Prārabdha Karma has to be carried into another body and can be […]
  • Exaltation and Debility - Definition VA West[1] VA Graha Exalt D D Fall D Sun Ar 10 20 Li 10 Moon Ta 3 3 Sc 3 Mars Cp 28 28 Cn 28 Merc Vi 15 15 Pi 15 Jup Cn 5 15 Cp 5 Ven Pi 27 27 Vi 27 Sat Li 20 21 Ar 20 Rāhu Ge Ta […]
  • Method of Three Kings - {tab=Intro} Examination of Rāśi Chart What are the areas we need study in the kṣetra? These include primarily the nature, health and longevity of the native and then we can go into the various areas of his life from each of the houses and their lords. We start with longevity which is the most important […]
  • Primary Divisions - We must not forget that it was the Hindus who discovered what is known as the precession of the Equinoxes, and in their calculation such an occurrence takes place every 25,827 years. Our modern science, after labors of hundreds of years has simply proved them to be correct. …Count Viscount Cheiro {tab=Time and Space} Time […]
  • Guru Vandanā - SadhanaGuru VandanāŚloka 02: Viśvarupa Lord Śiva is the parameṣṭhi guru which means the ultimate guru and Vedavyāsa is the guru of all creatures on this planet. During the present duration of Kali Yuga, Kṛṣṇa Dvaipāyana the only son of Maharṣi Parāśara, is the vedavyāsa. Vedavyāsa is a title and not a name. This truth is […]
  • Nomenclature - Atha अथ षोडशवर्गाध्यायः॥ atha ṣoḍaśavargādhyāyaḥ || This is the chapter title. The word ‘atha’ is an auspicious and inceptive particle which has no English equivalent. It simply means ‘now’ as a reference to a sequence of teaching or time. It consists of two syllables अ (a) which refers to Vasudeva [refer to creation concepts where […]
  • Śloka 01: Varga Bheda - Śloka 1 श्रुता ग्रहगुणास्त्वत्तस्तथा राशिगुण मुने। श्रोतमिच्छामि भावानां भेदांस्तान् कृपया वद॥ १॥ śrutā grahaguṇāstvattastathā rāśiguṇa mune | śrotamicchāmi bhāvānāṁ bhedāṁstān kṛpayā vada || 1|| Translation: Sage Maitreya addresses Maharṣi Parāśara: O! Muni, you have taught the description, qualities and guṇa of the graha (planets) as well as those of the rāśi (Vedic signs). Kindly divulge […]
  • Śloka 02: Viśvarupa - SadhanaGuru VandanāŚloka 02: ViśvarupaŚloka 2 वर्गान् षोडश यानाह ब्रह्मा लोकपितामहः। तानहं सम्प्रवक्ष्यामि मैत्रेय स्रूयतामिति॥ २॥ vargān ṣoḍaśa yānāha brahmā lokapitāmahaḥ | tānahaṁ sampravakṣyāmi maitreya srūyatāmiti || 2|| Maharṣi Parāśara teaches: Maitreya do listen to my benevolent monologue of [the knowledge of] sixteen divisional charts (varga) which has travelled from the creator (Brahmā) who is the […]
  • Śloka 3-4: 16 Varga - Śloka 3-4 क्षेत्रं होरा च द्रेष्काणस्तुर्यांशः सप्तमांशकः। नवांशो दशमांशश्च सूर्याम्शः षोडशांशकः॥ ३॥ kṣetraṁ horā ca dreṣkāṇasturyāṁśaḥ saptamāṁśakaḥ | navāṁśo daśamāṁśaśca sūryāmśaḥ ṣoḍaśāṁśakaḥ || 3|| विंशांशो वेदवाह्वंशो भांशस्त्रिंशांशकस्ततः। खवेदांशोऽक्षवेदांशः षष्ठ्यंशश्च ततः परम्॥ ४॥ viṁśāṁśo vedavāhvaṁśo bhāṁśastriṁśāṁśakastataḥ | khavedāṁśo’kṣavedāṁśaḥ ṣaṣṭhyaṁśaśca tataḥ param || 4|| Translation: The most prominent and important [sixteen divisions] are kṣetra, horā, dreṣkāṇa, turyāṁśa, […]
  • Divisions of a Sign - Division refers to an orderly division of the 30 degrees of a sign into parts called Āṁśa. The charts constructed on the basis of the ownership of these divisions1 are called Divisional Charts or simply D-Charts. The sign is divided into ‘N’ number of parts where ‘N’ refers to the Varga number. Each part is […]