अग्निं दूतं वृणीमहे होतारं विश्ववेदसम्। अस्य यज्ञस्य सुक्रतुम्॥
agniṁ dūtaṁ vṛṇīmahe hotāraṁ viśvavedasam | asya yajñasya sukratum ||
Drekkāṇa is the power of the trinity

The drekkāṇa is one-third a rāśi measuring 10° arc and having exactly three nakṣatra pada (of 3°20’) in it. There are 36 drekkāṇa in the zodiac as 3×12=36. Just as the horā D2 chart maps to the second house of the rāśi chart in the physical plane of consciousness, the drekkāṇa being a D3 chart, maps to the third house. We learn four drekkāṇa types among the five types defined by Parāśara as well as the ancient Greek drekkāṇa taught by Varāhamihira. There are two methods of reckoning the drekkāṇa i.e. by either regular count (zodiacal/reverse) or triplicity. In the method based on regularity, the Parivṛtti Drekkāṇa (based on vriddha kārikā) is adopted following regular zodiacal order. While the Somanāth Drekkāṇa uses zodiacal count only for odd signs and reverse for even signs. In the method based on triplicity, Parāśara Drekkāṇa takes the trines from the sign itself. The Jagannāth Drekkāṇa takes the trines from the movable sign. Drekkāṇa is the power of the trinity, the trimūrti referred to the highest manifested power of God as Brahma, Viṣṇu and Rudra. Movable signs have Brahma energy, fixed signs have Rudra energy and dual signs have Viṣṇu energy.

  • Introduction - [caption align="alignright" width="450"]Benaras 1824, the seat of Kashi Vishwanath[/caption]

    राशित्रिभागाद्रेष्काणास्ते च षट्‌त्रिंशदीरिताः।
    परिवृत्तित्रयं तेषां मेषादेः क्रमशो भवेत्‌॥ ७॥
    rāśitribhāgādreṣkāṇāste ca ṣaṭtriṁśadīritāḥ |
    parivṛttitrayaṁ teṣāṁ meṣādeḥ kramaśo bhavet || 7||
    Translation: Dreṣkāṇa (drekkāṇa) is one-third of a rāśi and there are thirty-six dreṣkāṇa in the zodiac.
  • Parāśara Drekkāṇa - Overview
    This is the first of drekkāṇa charts based on the completion of the circle of the zodiac which is the real meaning of parivṛtti. In three steps the circle of the zodiac (360°) is to be covered implying that each step covers a trine (120°). There are different ways in which this can be done of which the first condition is whether (a) the anchor is in the sign of the lagna itself or (b) it is based on the three-fold division of signs as chara-sthira-dvisvabhāva.
  • Parivṛtti Drekkāṇa - This is the simplest of the regular drekkāṇa charts and just like the parivṛtti horā, is based on direct count from Aries for the 36 drekkāṇa travelling through the zodiac three times. The first twelve drekkāṇa are in the first four rāśi Aries to Cancer which is bhū-loka having Agni as the devatā. The second set of twelve drekkāṇa are in the four rāśi from Leo to Scorpio which is bhuva loka having Sūrya as devatā.
  • Varāhamihira Drekkāṇa - Nomenclature: from Varāhamihira Mihira Drekkana or D3-M
    Varāhamihira defines the horā and drekkāṇa in the opening chapter of Bṛhat Jātaka (śloka 12). We have defined this horā previously.
    द्रेष्काण संज्ञाम् अपि वर्णयन्ति स्वद्वादशैकादशराशिपानाम्॥ १२॥
    dreṣkāṇa saṁjñām api varṇayanti svadvādaśaikādaśarāśipānām || 12||
    Translation: The three drekkāṇa of a sign are the same sign (sva), twelfth (dvādaśa) and eleventh (ekādaśa) rāśi lords (rāśipa).
    This is a simple definition and is in lines with the definition of the Mihira Horā. The first drekkāṇa (0°-10°) of every sign is in the same sign. This is exactly similar to Parāśara.
  • Jagannāth Drekkāṇa -
    The three drekkāṇa of a sign are its trines with the first in a movable sign, second in a fixed sign and third in a dual sign. This is exactly like the Parāśara drekkāṇa but differs in that the first is always in a movable sign in trines. Drekkāṇa for karma Phala is not actually Parāśara but instead it is from Phaladīpikā or Mantreśvara. This is based on the 10 degree concept of drekkāṇa size as indicative of some results of 10th house.
  • Somanāth Drekkāṇa -
    D3-S Chart
    The construction (mapping) of the Somanāth drekkāṇa is similar to the parivṛtti drekkāṇa (just like the horā) but with a difference in that the even signs are grouped as apasavya (reverse) and the odd signs are grouped as savya (zodiacal). To prepare the table, we consider the odd signs first and write them in one column with three columns to their right. In these, in the zodiacal, regular order we write the signs assigning every three drekkāṇa-signs to one rāśi.
Sat Siri is a fulltime practitioner of Vedic Astrology and an honors graduate of Harvard University ...Read
+1 505-753-6521
Visti Visti Larsen began studying Western Astrology in his spare time during his secondary education, a journey he began upon hearing the mention of the word ‘Ascendant’. ...Read
DK# (+45) 3693 4989
Course Director
Pt.Sanjay Rath belongs to a traditional family of astrologers from Bira Balabhadrapur Sasan village of Puri, Orissa, which trace their lineage back to Shri Achyuta Das (Sri Achyutananda).
Students Email

Course Liasion

DBC Programs

DBC Programs Only Certified Jaimini Scholars
Five Year Jyotiṣa Grandmaster
Real Traditional Vedic Astrology
Mantra Foundation, Śiva Mahāpurāṇa ..more