अग्निं दूतं वृणीमहे होतारं विश्ववेदसम्। अस्य यज्ञस्य सुक्रतुम्॥
agniṁ dūtaṁ vṛṇīmahe hotāraṁ viśvavedasam | asya yajñasya sukratum ||

Etymologically, the word navāṁśa is composed of two words nava meaning nine and aṁśa meaning part of division. The period of two consecutive conjunctions of the Moon with the Sun is about 30 days (rounded off) and the longitude traversed by the Sun is the overlord of the signs. Since the Sun is the kāraka of the ninth house of father, the one-ninth division of a sign called navāṁśa (spans 3°20’) has a profound say on one’s fortune and dharma (religion, life path) which stems from the feet of one’s father. Similarly, the nakṣatra having a span of 13°20’ have the Moon as their over-lord and show the Mother and the mind. Since Moon is the kāraka of the fourth house, it has a strong say on the consciousness and sukha (joys) and health which is the unsullied affection of one’s mother. When the nakṣatra span of 13°20’ is divided by 4 (house number) we obtain the navāṁśa span of 3°20’. Thus, the navāṁśa is the common ground for the coming together of the Sun and Moon, of Śiva and Śaktī, of Father and Mother…

  • Theory of Navāṁśa - Etymologically, the word navāṁśa is composed of two words nava meaning nine and aṁśa meaning part of division. Division refers to an orderly division of the 30 degrees of a sign into parts called aṁśa. The charts constructed on the basis of the ownership of these divisions[1] are called Varga Chakra (lit. Divisional Charts or simply D-Charts). The sign is divided into ‘N’ number of parts where ‘N’ refers to the Varga number. Each part is called an aṁśa and maps a specific sign of the D-N Chart.
  • Navāṁśa Examination - There are various techniques for examining the Navāṁśa for various purposes - fortune, destiny, spiritual pursuits leading to mokṣa as well as spouse and relationships. It is the most important chart after the Rāśi (D1) and there are many ways to draw this chart. What we are learning is the study of the Parāśara Navāṁśa, which is also the parivṛtti navāṁśa as it is a regular division, zodiacal and without jumps i.e. it has continuity.
  • Navāṁśa Notes - These are my personal notes made when learning navāṁśa which we share with you. The topics included in the slides are meant to give clarity in the system taught by Maharṣi Parāśara.

    We start with Maraṇa Kāraka Sthāna of planets, acronym MKS. These are positions of planets in which they are in a state of dying or preparation for death. In such a state the planet will definitely give to the native as dying people realise that it is futile to cling on to the material world.
  • Navāṁśa Notes2 - These are my personal notes made when learning navāṁśa which we share with you. The topics included in the slides are meant to give clarity in the system taught by Maharṣi Parāśara.

    Every subject has certain technical terminology and we start with learning the words – svāṁśa, nīca-aṁśa, avāṁśa, uccha-aṁśa, vargottama.
    Mapping the Seven Chakra in the body like mūlādhāra, svādhiṣṭhāna etc., using Bhāva sūcaka aṁśa.
  • D9 Janma -  Navāṁśa is a print of the karma of past life manifesting in this life. It starts right from the moment of birth, and that helps us to understand the karma which is causing this incarnation. We study the Navāṁśa Chakra: Birth effects, ability, capability etc. Starting with a clear understanding of each Navāṁśa Bhāva, we continue into Delivery Chamber. Thereafter, the gifts of god called abilities are defined by the seven fires – the four kendra are able, incapable, unable and capable respectively.
  • Puṣkarāṁśa - Puṣkara is the blessing of Brahma, the Creator who grants longevity. In this lesson presentation we study the puṣkarāṁśa aspect of the navāṁśa namely –

    Puṣkarāṁśa – both types
    Chāmara Yoga with examples
    Guru-Maṅgala Yoga which is so auspicious for the native and his mother.
    Dictum from Chandra kalā nāḍi on Puṣkarāṁśa
    Lakṣmī Puṣkara
    Results of planets – Graha Phala

    D9 Janma Part2
    D9 Janma Part2 Presentation

    Please be patient as the slides can take a little time to download
    Make copious notes
    Ask Questions at Forums of this website
    Download the audio files for listening at leisure.
  • Bhagya-I Dharma -
    Dharma, represented by the bull (of Śiva) called Nandiśvara, has four legs. These legs are

    Dharma Leg

    Tapaḥ (austerity)

    Śaucam (purity)
    Kṛta, Dvāpara

    Dayā (mercy)
    Kṛta, Dvāpara, Treta

    Satyam (truth)
    Kṛta, Dvāpara, Treta, Kali

    Satya is the only leg that has the strength to stand through all the yuga. Other legs become weak and cannot sustain the burden of sin.
  • Bhagya-II -

    We study the anitya bhāgya kāraka … just to recapitulate – anitya kāraka of any bhāva is the dispositor of the lord of that bhāva. Anitya bhāgya kāraka is the dispositor of the 9th lord.
    In matters of Dharma only Devaguru Bṛhaspati (Jupiter) is the perfect one. Every planet has its own failings and when placed in the 9th house from navāṁśa lagna, it tells us what we need to be careful about in matters of transgressing the guru.
  • Chandrāṁśa -
    Chandrāṁśa is the navāṁśa sign of the Moon. It is an important part of bhāgya (fortune) as fortune manifests within the human society, and society is ruled and controlled by the Moon. The Twelve bhāva from the chandrāṁśa are grouped as follows:
    Chandrāṁśa: The self (mind) in society, the form of ādi-śaktī that links the native to his society. For example, if in Aquarius, Kālikā Śaktī; if Aries then Caṇḍī, Scorpio shows Cāmuṇḍā etc.
  • Vivāha: Marriage -
    Vivāha is the most important part of the navāṁśa. The greatest secret of our tradition is now public knowledge – the manner in which to study multiple marriages and individual spouses, the relationships and everything about vivāha.
Sat Siri is a fulltime practitioner of Vedic Astrology and an honors graduate of Harvard University ...Read
+1 505-753-6521
Visti Visti Larsen began studying Western Astrology in his spare time during his secondary education, a journey he began upon hearing the mention of the word ‘Ascendant’. ...Read
DK# (+45) 3693 4989
Course Director
Pt.Sanjay Rath belongs to a traditional family of astrologers from Bira Balabhadrapur Sasan village of Puri, Orissa, which trace their lineage back to Shri Achyuta Das (Sri Achyutananda).
Students Email

Course Liasion

DBC Programs

DBC Programs Only Certified Jaimini Scholars
Five Year Jyotiṣa Grandmaster
Real Traditional Vedic Astrology
Mantra Foundation, Śiva Mahāpurāṇa ..more